Decade: 80’s (week August 9-15, 2013)

And the nominees are…

Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981, #27)
Back to the Future (1985, #44)
The Princess Bride (1987, #194)

Which do you think should be declared movie of the week?

Also: feel free to nominate best actor/actress and quote.

About troycarruthers

I am a franchise owner/technician specializing in mobile auto paint and tire rim repair. I live in New Brunswick, Canada, with my wife and children whom I love even more than movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Decade: 80’s (week August 9-15, 2013)

  1. Kirk Perry says:

    To me this one is easy. I loved all three of these but going back and watching Back to the Future makes me realize how cheesy it really was. Don’t get me wrong I have probably watched it more than a dozen times but with more mature eyes I find myself groaning at the climax scene and how the plug comes loose and the close call blah, blah, blah. Raiders of the lost Ark will always be about the face melting scene. Loved it. Really fun action flick but once again I find the movie doesn’t stand the test of time as well as my winner. The Princess Bride still holds up as an amazing story that is charming, funny and full of amazing actors and acting. Show your teenager today and they think their seeing an amazing new flick. (disclosure: I may or may not have the entire movie memorized) Quotable line after quotable line from: “Sleep well and dream of large women” to “there’s a shortage of perfect breasts in this world. It would be a pity to damage yours” to “We’ll never survive. Nonsense you’re only saying that because no one ever has” to “Surrender! You mean you wish to surrender to me? Very well I accept” to “The King’s stinking son fired me, and thank you so much for bringing up such a painful subject. While you’re at it, why don’t you give me a nice paper cut and pour lemon juice on it? We’re closed.” I didn’t even bring up “As you wish”, “anybody want a peanut”, and “I am not left handed” Princess Bride wins this in a land slide. The others in comparison belong in a pit of despair. (don’t even think of trying to escape) (It would be inconceivable) (you keep using that word. I don’t think it means what you think it means) (I’ll call the brute squad, I’m on the brute squad. You are the brute squad)

    Best actor: Andre the Giant (need I say more)
    Raiders 2nd
    BTTF 3rd

    HaHaHaHaHaHaHaHa HaHaHaHaHaHaHaHa HaHaHaHa! (sound of Sicilian hitting the ground)

  2. Tim Cook says:

    Troy you always make these choices so difficult. First off I have to say that The Princess Bride is one of those movies that has a huge cult following, and it is one of those movies that you either love or hate. My wife loves it and me not so much. I know the cheese is intentional and the humor is corny but I just have never bought myself to enjoy it. Secondly is Raiders of the Lost Ark another enjoyable movie at the time that is part of a great franchise. An enjoyable movie but still slow and not particularly re-watchable. All three of these movies have made it into our pop culture lexicon at different times and are all still talked about and spoofed. However the only movie that i can and do watch many times is Back to the Future. Perhaps if I was just a bit older Raiders would have that special place in my heart but I can still remember watching Back to the Future on a rented VHS machine before mom and dad had even bought one. I can watch Back to the Future repeatedly and I feel that it is set the standard for all time travel movies that came after it.

    Best Actor: The Doc

    MCFLY!!!

  3. This one was hard, but I think I have to say Back to the Future (or Bact to the Futcher)

  4. Jamie says:

    Great choices this week Troy. All three movies could be on the average person’s movie list. I guess I would look at the three on the cool to coolest scale.

    Princess Bride when first looked at seems to be very lame. Damsel in distress is rescued by former house boy who only speaks three words. I mean the first part of this story is a killer. Then lame oh Wesley turns into a pirate who excels at all forms of battle, ok I am listening. Throw in Inigo Montoya’s “you killed my father prepare to die” and we may have a movie here. Then the big guy himself? We all loved Andre, we couldn’t understand what he was saying but held onto his every word. Then the little guy made me want to include the word ” inconceivable” to my vocabulary. Then the whole mah wudge just made us laugh. This went from bad to cool.

    Back to the Future was a movie with great timing. What I love about this movie is being entertained at the beginning and just keeps going right to the end. The music is great and I think MJF captures the same response to events as I feel I would. Plus any movie with my last name goes from cool to cooler!

    Raiders of the Lost Arc is head and shoulders above the other two. This movie has everything. Indiana Jones has everything going; cool name, cool moonlighting job, always gets the girl, uses a whip and then there is the hat! Harrison Ford brings this character to life in so many ways. I can’t imagine this movie with Tom Selleck (sorry Troy I assume you we’re going to mention that on your write up). This one is the coolest.

    Actor – Harrison Ford with a close second Muchael J Fox
    Actress – Princess Buttercup

Leave a Reply

