Decade: 00’s (Week: Nov 22-28/13)

Nov22-28

Gladiator (2000, #56)

Amelie (2001, #68)

District 9 (2009, #241)

 

About troycarruthers

I am a franchise owner/technician specializing in mobile auto paint and tire rim repair. I live in New Brunswick, Canada, with my wife and children whom I love even more than movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Decade: 00’s (Week: Nov 22-28/13)

  1. James Carruthers says:

    Gladiator, movie was amazing just wished it had been someone other than Crowe as the lead.

    Sent from my iPod

  2. Kirk Perry says:

    Probably a surprise pick from me but I rally enjoyed Amelie. Enjoyed Gladiator as well but always felt a lot o it was way over the top. Amelie for the win.

  3. David says:

    Ridley Scott’s Gladiator was a big film with a huge budget. It’s influence is still felt to this day (as C.M. Punk ‘runs his fingers through the wheat stalks’ as he comes down to the ring. And if it is in wrestling, you know it’s legit! LOL) The visuals were great and I saw it a couple of times in theater and really enjoyed it. Joaquin Phoenix was the casting part that bothered me. The was also no way they could do a sequel.

    District 9 was a pleasant surprise that was part of the documentary footage rage that is still going. Who would have thought the main actor would go on to have a part in The A Team reboot? The idea of South Africa treating the aliens to the equivalent of Apartheid was a nice touch. The government trying to capitalize on the newcomer’s weaponry (never a good idea) had the momentum of turning the civil servant into a leader of the uprising. Again a good film.

    But my vote goes to Amelie. A foreign film with subtitles that told the story of a quirky person and the people who she interacts with. A little whimsical at times, it did what a movie is suppose to do…entertain. Her actions against the cruel greengrocer are ingenious and she really is a good hearted person. We watched this film with Amy’s family one Christmas, totally forgetting the scene where Amelie is looking over Paris and wonders about the number of people engaged in a ‘particular activity’, Amy’s Nan was surprised but it is a French film.

    My vote for actor goes to Sharlto Copley for District 9.
    My vote for actress is Audrey Tautou from Amelie.
    My favorite quote is “With a prompter in every cellar window whispering comebacks, shy people would have the last laugh.” Narrator in Amelie.

    I think Amy and I will want to watch this movie very soon.

  4. Josh Gordon says:

    Another difficult one, but my vote is for Amelie. It is just a gorgeous film and gave me a hollywood crush on Audrey Tautou. I am usually not a romantic, everything comes together in the end sort of guy, but with Amelie you have to be. The attention to detail is what makes this film amazing like a Wes Anderson film as if every frame was a still life painting. Tautou has an adorable vulnerability that most actresses dont have. I can’t think of many films that I would describe as whimsical, but this one for sure.
    District 9 was a great alien movie, but I think the whole apartheid aspect gave it a depth that it really didn’t deserve. Its like seeing a good painting but then hearing the artist talk about how it is man’s struggle against mortality or something and then you thinking its amazing. To me if the concept behind the art piece is that hidden its probably just the artist trying to sound philosophical and esoteric. But that is another discussion. District 9 is an alien movie with Predator and Signs not a social justice film like Gandhi or Glory.
    Gladiator is sweet. Not much more I can say, but its not timeless or a classic.

  5. Josh Gordon says:

    Dang it. Wrote my comment before reading David’s and he used the word whimsical too.

  6. David says:

    Don’t worry Josh. Great minds think alike.

Leave a Reply

