Theme: Tom Hanks (Week: Nov 29-Dec 5/13)

Nov 29-Dec 5

In honour of one of the greatest actors of our time. May be a tough choice…

1. Forrest Gump (1994, #18)
2. Saving Private Ryan (1998, #34)
3. The Green Mile (1999, #53)

About troycarruthers

I am a franchise owner/technician specializing in mobile auto paint and tire rim repair. I live in New Brunswick, Canada, with my wife and children whom I love even more than movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Theme: Tom Hanks (Week: Nov 29-Dec 5/13)

  1. I have to say Forrest Gump, even though it’s shown way too often on TV. I’ve never seen SPR and can’t say I thoroughly enjoyed TGM. But I love how they made Forrest apart of many significantly historical events. And there are quotes up the wazoo with it. I don’t think anyone can talk about shrimp without going through part of Bubba’s list.

  2. Jamie says:

    Ah my favourite actor. I keep forgetting that we judge the movie not the actor as I keep thinking I would like to see Philadelphia or my fav Hank’s movie Castaway.

    This isn’t easy as I enjoy all three.

    Green Mile would be my number three movie.

    Forrest Gump would be my # 2 however would be close to the top spot. This movie was a lot of fun to watch and I don’t question its high spot on IMDB

    Saving Pvt Ryan was just a great movie in many aspects. Great amount of top acting, great story and educated us on what our grand fathers or uncles went through. This would be my #1.

    Best quote. My name’s Forrest, Forrest Gump or ” stupid is is what stupid does”

    Best actor besides Hanks – Gary Sinese

    Best actress- Robin Wright (Jenny)

  3. Lisa, that was definitely a great part of that movie. It was pretty cutting edge then too, wasn’t it? I couldn’t believe how well they made Hanks look like he was right there with those people. If you haven’t seen SPR, next Remembrance Day would be a great time to try it. Jamie, good pick for a favourite actor. I almost put Philadelphia on this list. I love that movie.

  4. Wait… my bad. Philadelphia, surprisingly isn’t on the top 250 list. But both it and Castaway have high ratings. They both have 7.6 which is high on IMDb. The lowest on the top 250 is 7.9.

  5. Josh Gordon says:

    You can always make the age-old joke that Forrest did get AIDS from Jenny and that Philadelphia is a sequel to Forrest Gump.
    I didn’t really like two of these films and the other one is overplayed and quoted to death. TGM couldn’t decide if it was a supernatural film or a realistic drama and although the Omaha beach scene is one of the greatest battle scenes of all time, it really irked me as a strategy to sacrifice a group of men for one man and there was an inordinate amount of walking and talking and philosophizing.
    I am going to pick the movie that annoys me least which is presently Saving Private Ryan. May God have mercy on my soul.

Leave a Reply

