Such a character…

Avengers

I love Mr. Dressup. When I was a kid I could watch him draw, make crafts, dress up, and listen to him talk for as long as I thought my mom would allow me to. Although his persona and character were enough to keep me watching, I also loved the other characters he interacted with: Casey, Finnegan, Aligator Al, Aunt Bird and the Owl on the wall. We all love characters. They’re often what keep us watching movies and TV shows. The Avengers success had everything to do with its characters. Sure there were very funny parts, great action and cool visual effects, but what makes this movie so cool is that our favourite characters are in it. Usually in super hero movies there is a sequel that tries to fit in too many characters at once and it comes out choppy and forgettable (Spider-man 3 and Batman & Robin, I’m looking in your direction). But Avengers crammed them all in and actually pulled it off.

In honour of these great characters, allow me to give you what I believe is the twelve greatest movie characters of all time:

12. Jack Sparrow (Pirates of the Caribbean)
11. Clark Griswold (National Lampoon Vacation movies)
10. Tyler Durden (Fight Club)
9. Nacho/Ignacio (Nacho Libre)
8. Lloyd Christmas (Dumb and Dumber)
7. Daniel Plainview (There Will Be Blood)
6. Ron Burgundy (Anchor Man)
5. Guido Orefice (Life Is Beautiful)
4. Rocky Balboa
3. The Tramp (Charlie Chaplin movies)
2. Austin Powers and Dr. Evil
1. Darth Vader

Why twelve? Well, I just couldn’t leave anyone out. And hoping that at least one person reading this just may be as list-crazed as I am, here is my top twelve greatest TV characters of all time:

12. Lucy Ricardo (I Love Lucy)
11. Jack Bauer (24)
10. Mary Tyler Moore
9. Ralph Kramden (The Honeymooners)
8. The Fonz (Happy Days)
7. Barney Stinson (How I Met Your Mother)
6. Radar O’Reilley (M*A*S*H)
5. Kermit the Frog
4. Kramer (Seinfeld)
3. Homer Simpson
2. Archie Bunker (All in the Family)
1. Mr. Dressup

I could go on with more lists. I must say I’m obsessed. It’s become a problem in fact, and I attend weekly meetings. But for now…

Congratulations The Avengers. This is your week.

And the Oscar goes to…
Best Actress: Cobie Smulders as Agent Maria Hill in The Avengers. Joy, are you glad I picked Robin over Scarlett Johansson?
Best Actor: Tie between Christian Bale and Morgan Freeman in The Dark Knight Rises. Both are on my list of favourite actors. Wow, I need to tone down on the whole lists thing…
Best quote: “Superheroes? In New York? Give me a break!” – Stan Lee

Ok, this list compulsion is really out of control. But just one more! Top ten favourite SNL characters:

10. The Blues Brothers
9. The Continental (Christopher Walken)
8. Nat X
7. Mango
6. The Roxbury Brothers
5. Linda Richmond
4. E. Buzz Miller (Honest ta Gad!)
3. Church Lady
2. Father Guido Sarducci
1. Fred Garvin, Male Prostitute

I just have one question for Mr. Dressup: Why does Casey’s mouth not move yet we hear him talk, but Finnegan’s mouth moves like Jagger yet he doesn’t make a sound? Let me know in heaven I guess.

About troycarruthers

I am a franchise owner/technician specializing in mobile auto paint and tire rim repair. I live in New Brunswick, Canada, with my wife and children whom I love even more than movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

