Theme: James Carruthers; Week: Aug 22-28/14

My brother is the birthday boy this month: August 26. The following are movies from the top 250 that he described as movies he could watch over and over again, and I must say that I concur. Each of these I’ve seen more than once and look forward to the next time. How about you? Which should be Movie of the Week?Aug 22-28-14

 

1. The Godfather: Part II (1974, #3)

2. Goodfellas (1990, #17)

4. Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981, #30)

Φ

James

About troycarruthers

I am a franchise owner/technician specializing in mobile auto paint and tire rim repair. I live in New Brunswick, Canada, with my wife and children whom I love even more than movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Theme: James Carruthers; Week: Aug 22-28/14

  1. Petrina says:

    I am ashamed to admit I have never seen a Godfather movie.
    I am not ashamed to admit I did not like Goodfellas.
    So, I have to give my vote to Raiders Of the Lost ArK.

  2. Petrina says:

    Just to be clear: You and Jamie have a list of the TOP 250 movies you could watch over and over again???
    How do you have wives, careers, and six kids between you???

  3. Well you should be ashamed. Of both statements actually. But kudos on picking up on the wording there. But maybe we DO have 250 re-watchable movies. I guess that’s one more list to work on.

  4. James Carruthers says:

    I absolutely love all three of these story lines for all different reasons. All three of these really blew me away when I first saw them and I will actually throw them in to this day and make an afternoon with one of them. Godfather 2 – Everyone knew this movie and some of the highlights were already well known. I liked it, however it was the sequel that I couldn’t believe how well it was told. Both Pacino and De Niro put on amazing performances. Goodfella’s – I will tell everyone that this is my favourite movie of all time. I actually watched this movie for the second time right after I watched it the first time. Although it has the dubious honour of one of the movies with the most amount of F bombs, however it works in forming the characters. Because this was based on a true story, it gets elevated to my top list. Raiders of the Lost Arc – I watched this in the basement of a Catholic church for the first time. The community opened up the church’s basement to show movies to give neighbourhood kids a place to hang out. The character of Indy is as complete in what every teenaged boy could say is the whole package. Interesting side story. When my son Ryan was 4 or 5 yrs old he was obsessed with movies and he wanted to watch Raiders. We watched it and then I stopped the movie just before the scene where they go into the desert. A few years later, Ryan came home after being at a friends and said to me, “hey do you know that there is more to that movie”. I am voting for Raiders for this week. Best Actor Al Pacino Best Actress Lorraine Bracco Best Quotes

    You mean, let me understand this cause, ya know maybe it’s me, I’m a little bleeped up maybe, but I’m funny how, I mean funny like I’m a clown, I amuse you? I make you laugh, I’m here to bleepin’ amuse you? What do you mean funny, funny how? How am I funny? What, do you got me on a bleepin’ pay-no-mind list kid? I know it was you Fredo. You broke my heart!

    Sent from my iPod

  5. Indiana Jones Raiders of the Lost Ark is clearly the ONLY choice.

Leave a Reply

