Once upon a time…

I thought I’d do something a little different this week and give one of my own stories. We all know that great stories make great movies. All three of this week’s nominees have engaging stories that take the listeners on an epic journey. I have shared with many friends and family one that I wrote called Cobbkin’s Wall. I may post that one another time, but this time it’s The Old Checkerboard. It’s not long and it can’t compete with the stories that are represented in this week’s movie nominations, but I hope you enjoy it nonetheless:

The Old Checkerboard

Dad, remember when we used to play checkers on that old checker board? When you got one of your pieces to get to my end you’d say, “King me, King Mike.” I didn’t want to lose, but I loved how you said that in your funny voice. It was rare for me to get kinged because you would never move your back row. But when I did manage, I’d yell, “Ohhhhh yeahhhhhh!!!! King me, king me, king me!! Whoooohoooooooo!!!” Then you would joke with me that I was cheating and make me laugh. It was easier to laugh when I was winning, of course.

Remember when we played it the night of the thunderstorm? I was so scared that night, and our game helped calm me down, along with Mom’s hot chocolate with mini marshmallows.

Remember when we played it on my seventh birthday? I was so proud of my new bike that I wore my helmet while we played. Then we both went out for a ride. I’ll never forget seeing that little red bird that flew right by my nose. What a day!

Remember my first day of middle school? I was scared to go, which reminded me of the thunder storm. I asked you to play checkers at seven o’clock in the morning. I think you were sleepy but I was wide awake. The day at school wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. Remember the missing piece from the checkerboard? Well, I’d brought it with me to school that day in my pocket. Somehow I lost it. But we just played with a nickel in its place.

Remember my graduation?  The principal had a guest speak to us about chasing our dreams. I couldn’t believe he actually talked about checkers in his speech! I looked right at you. At first you weren’t looking at me, but then you did and winked.

Remember my wedding when Kathy and I were opening gifts? We got a blender, a set of fancy dishes, towels, and all kinds of nice things. But what I loved most was your gift to me: the old checker board! I was so excited to see it and that same feeling came over me like when I’d get to yell, “King me!!”  By this time we were not only using a nickel for a missing piece, we were using seven of them.

Remember when you called our house on my birthday and I said to you, “Guess what I’m doing right now dad?” You made a joke but then I told you I was teaching my own four-year-old daughter how to play checkers on the old board. She talked to you that night and I told her to thank you for the old checker board. “Tank you for the tecker boward, Gwampy” You called her your little flower and she giggled.

I remember that last game we played. The feeling was different that day, but still special, just like all the other times.

I love all of those memories and I love that old checker board. It’s your birthday, so I’m going to leave it with you for for the day.

And the flower is from Kelly.

Congratulations Guardians of the Galaxy. This is your week.

And the Oscar goes to…

Best Actress: Emma Watson. Can anyone deny how much she rocks? She’s always been a fantastic Hermoine and of the three main characters in this series I think she’s made the best transition into the non-Harry Potter movie world.

Best Actor: Leonardo DiCaprio. Love him or hate him, he’s awesome at what he does. Scorcese seems to know this and therefore casts him constantly.

Best Quote: “Words are, in my not-so-humble opinion, our most inexhaustible source of magic. Capable of both inflicting injury, and remedying it.” – Professor Albus Dumbledore

I love writing. It’s one of the reasons I started this blog—I knew it would keep me writing at least once a week. I also love reading what other friends and family have written. If you write, please consider sending me a copy. It would make my day. And if you don’t, please reconsider.

About troycarruthers

I am a franchise owner/technician specializing in mobile auto paint and tire rim repair. I live in New Brunswick, Canada, with my wife and children whom I love even more than movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Once upon a time…

  1. Petrina says:

    Troy, I am so grateful that you love writing, because I love reading what you write. It makes me happy happy happy!
    Thanks for another one Troy.
    p

Leave a Reply

