My Oscar Predictions


I love this time of year, and though I find it difficult to do, I love making Oscar predictions. I haven’t taken a stab at every category. I just picked 10 that I felt I could make a semi-educated guess at.  I’ll admit I haven’t seen all of these movies, but I’m so glad that I’ve seen most of them. Some of my guesses are based on whispers and speculations I’ve picked up on. What are your predictions?

 

Best Picture

Who I think SHOULD win: Whiplash
Who I think WILL win: Boyhood

Best Actress

Who I think SHOULD win: Rosamund Pike (Gone Girl)
Who I think WILL win: Julianne Moore (Still Alice)

Best Actor

Who I think SHOULD win: Michael Keaton (Birdman:
The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance
)
Who I think WILL win: Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything)
Extra: Who SHOULD have been nominated: Jake Gyllenhaal (Nightcrawler)

Best Supporting Actress

Who I think SHOULD win: Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)
Who I think WILL win: Patricia Arquette

Best Supporting Actor

Who I think SHOULD win: J. K. Simmons (Whiplash)
Who I think WILL win: J. K. Simmons

Best Director

Who I think SHOULD win: Alejandro G. Iñárritu (Birdman)
Who I think WILL win: Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

Best Animated

This is the toughest year for me for this category. Usually I can tell right away. If The Lego Movie was in this list I would say it would win. Why it’s not is beyond me. I’ve actually seen none of these nominees, but I’m going to go with The Tale of Princess Kaguya as both SHOULD and WILL.

Best Original Song

Who I think SHOULD win: “Everything is Awesome” (The Lego Movie)
Who I think WILL win: “Glory” (Selma)

Best Original Score

Who I think SHOULD win: The Grand Budapest Hotel
Who I think WILL win: The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Film Editing

Who I think SHOULD win: Whiplash
Who I think WILL win: Boyhood

 

 

 

 

About troycarruthers

I am a franchise owner/technician specializing in mobile auto paint and tire rim repair. I live in New Brunswick, Canada, with my wife and children whom I love even more than movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Oscar Predictions

  1. Kirk Perry says:

    I loved the Grand Budapest Hotel. Best movie I’ve seen in a long time.

  2. Pretty much agree here except for Best Actor. I think Keaton will win over Redmayne, he’s been on a roll this awards season.

Leave a Reply

