What’s Your Next Sequel?

If the box office tells us anything it’s that we love a good sequel. At least we’re all in search of a good one. Every time there is a wildly successful movie, we can be sure that a sequel is imminent. Sometimes they’re terrible. Jaws remains one of the greatest classics, especially in the summer blockbuster category. But each sequel got worse and worse. Speed, The Blues Brothers, and The Matrix have the same story. Yet Star Wars, Batman Begins, and The Terminator all had sequels that most feel surpassed them in greatness. Whether they turn out great or end up as a stinker, they still make lots of money. We all want to know what happens next.

I remember anxiously awaiting to see the second Back to the Future movie. Doc Brown’s declaration that “where we’re going we don’t need roads,” raised my excitement to a dizzying level. For as long as I have enjoyed watching movies I have waited for sequels. I’d look forward to what would follow Raiders of the Lost Ark, The Bourne Identity, and Batman (1989). It’s fun to see how things have changed, what hasn’t, and what new adventures await.

Sometimes I’m excited when I think of potential sequels to my own life. Sometimes I’m scared. The next chapter could be a tragedy. It could be a heart-wrenching drama. But worst of all, it could end up being boring. But whatever may come, bad or good, I can look forward with positive anticipation for one big reason. The cast of characters is freaking awesome!

Congratulations Finding Dory. This is your week.

And the Oscar goes to…

Best Actress: Of course we can’t choose who did the best acting if we haven’t seen the movies yet, but I can tell you which actress I look forward most to seeing: Kristen Wiig. She’s one of the funniest comic actors in the business today. A close second choice would be Ellen Degeneres in Finding Dory.

Best Actor: I look most forward to seeing Bill Murray in the new Ghostbusters.

Best Quote: Well, I guess I can’t quote any of these movies. I can however, provide a great quote from one of the originals that these movies are based on: “Ray. If someone asks if you are a god, you say, ‘yes!’” — Ernie Hudson as Winston Zeddermore in Ghostbusters (1984).

And in the story of my life, my favourite character is Joy. In fact, I have a major crush on her!

About troycarruthers

I am a franchise owner/technician specializing in mobile auto paint and tire rim repair. I live in New Brunswick, Canada, with my wife and children whom I love even more than movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

