Pick your movie of the week: Greatest Xmas Movie Character! (Dec 11-17/15)

Dec 11-17-15

I’m sure if there was an official list of greatest Christmas movie characters by any movie-related site or organization, they would most likely have George Bailey or John McClane in the top spot. But every year, these are the three characters I hear quoted and/or referenced the most. Which nominated movie, based solely on the character, do you believe deserves to be this week’s movie of the week?

1. A Christmas Story (1983)

2. Elf (2003)

3. Christmas Vacation (1989)

About troycarruthers

I am a franchise owner/technician specializing in mobile auto paint and tire rim repair. I live in New Brunswick, Canada, with my wife and children whom I love even more than movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pick your movie of the week: Greatest Xmas Movie Character! (Dec 11-17/15)

  1. We just watched Christmas Vacation for the very first time last night, loved it. But Elf is a classic that I watch year round and Buddy’s one of my favourite characters of all time. Have to choose Buddy!

  2. Jamie says:

    One of the hardest picks ever!
    I take into consideration that I watched all three of these and in my first watch, two of them made me laugh but I had to watch them a few times over to really appreciate the true humour all the way through. However, the one just did it from the first moment to watching it for the 1000th time. However, I think Home Alone in the mix would have been a more difficult decision.

    1. Christmas Vacation
    2. Elf
    3. A Christmas Story

    Best Actor – Ralphie (The kid pulled it off with great facial expressions)
    Best Actress – Ellen Griswold played by Beverly D’Angelo
    Best Supporting Actor – Cousin Eddie (no one can compare that performance)
    Best Supporting Actress – Jovie played by Zooey Deschanel in Elf.

    • I totally agree about how difficult of a choice this is and how funny they are. As for comedy, I would also put Home Alone up there, but I didn’t include it because I didn’t think any of the characters could compare to these three.

  3. This was a really hard hard decision to make. I love Buddy, but I think I have to go with Cousin Eddie. Christmas Vacation.

  4. Mama C says:

    This one sure is a hard choice, I’d like to say all of them but I feel that won’t be acceptable so I’ll go with Christmas Vacation. I love Ralphie and Buddy is GREAT but Cousin Eddie has been making me laugh for 25 years.

  5. Petrina says:

    Am I the only family member to have never seen Christmas Vacation? Sounds like a “must see” this season.
    I saw Elf just last year for the first time, and it was love at first sight. He has my vote in a very tight race with Ralphie.

  6. Mama C says:

    Hey Petrina, come on up we will watch Christmas Vacation together, it will be your new favourite. I can’t believe you have never seen it.
    I can’t believe you waited 12 years to see Elf either. What family are you from?????

  7. Ross Ervin says:

    Christmas Vacation is the top for me. Too many memories and love connected to that film and character.

Leave a Reply

