Whaddya do?

I recently watched a video where a man explains the difference between “non” and “anti.” He talked mostly about racism and that it’s not enough to simply say “I’m not a racist” or “I am against racism.” That’s the “non.” He went on to say that being “anti” means deciding to do something about it. In essence, “I’m against racism and I won’t stand for it. I will therefore…”

The part that really hit home for me was when he suggested we replace the “c” in racist to a “p.” What good is it to say, “I’m not a rapist and I am against rape”? Instead, it’s important to decide that we are anti-rapists who will decide to help make this world a better place by somehow helping to stop and prevent rape from happening.

Here is my struggle: What do I do?

Most of the time I can’t relate to 007. I do love those unshakable characters like Jason Bourne, James Bond and Ethan Hunt. I like to put my fabricated confidence in them and watch them do their thing. They’re fun heroes. But I find more in common with characters who have a shaky but steady confidence in what to do, like Indiana Jones or Sarah Connor (the Terminator franchise). But then I treat problems around me like I’m somehow powerless because I’m not 007. I completely forget about the Indiana Jones in me. If I can’t pull out a pen that’s rigged to stun the bad guy, use ninja training to finish the job and save the victim, then I feel powerless. But Bond himself I’m sure would sip his shaken-not-stirred martini and tell me I’m wrong. None of us are powerless. We can use whatever resources we have at our disposal, and at the very least you have a heart and a brain. The two most effective weapons in the world.

It’s what all of our heroes also have in common. Where there is imagination and resolve, there is a way.

At the very least we can talk. I’m a big fan of getting ourselves in discussion about tough subjects. Trying to be as civil and respectful as possible isn’t easy. In fact, it’s much less difficult to simply leave the conversation and mask the fear with something like, “I don’t like petty arguing.” If it’s about a problem that genuinely affects human beings, there’s nothing petty about it. Some aren’t good at discussion and get petty themselves, but should that make any of us call it quits?

Hate bullying? Experts who study this problem say the answer lies greatly not with the bully nor the victim, but with the third party individuals. When they don’t act, bullying tends to do just fine. One person speaking up for another makes a huge difference.

But then that question enters the mind, “Waddya do…?” It doesn’t have any other words after it. Just those 2-3 words accompanied by either hands thrown up or head shaking. Usually it’s used to communicate frustration. But you know what it really is? An indication to show that you’ve given up.

As you can see, I’m not listing ideas for solving problems. We all have that ability. I just need to remind myself (and maybe you) that in our everyday lives we can make a difference. We’re like the lion, tinman and scarecrow. We do have a heart, brain and courage. We just need to acknowledge them and use them.

Congratuations James Bond franchise. This is your week.

And the Oscar goes to…
000000hermione

Best Actress: Emma Watson as Hermione. I love her character and Watson has always filled that role with perfection.
Best Actor: Daniel Craig. He’s actually my favourite bond.
Best Quote:Hold your ground, hold your ground! … I see in your eyes the same fear that would take the heart of me. A day may come when the courage of men fails, when we forsake our friends and break all bonds of fellowship, but it is not this day. An hour of wolves and shattered shields, when the age of men comes crashing down! But it is not this day! This day we fight!” Aragorn (Viggo Mortensen) in The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King.

And for your listing pleasure, the following info comes from boxofficemojo.com and is the top ten highest grossing movie franchises of all time, worldwide. Any wagers on whether the #2 and #1 spots will switch places in the next 10 years?

10. Jurassic Park
9. Shrek
8. The Hunger Games
7. Spider-man
6. Middle Earth
5. Batman
4. James Bond
3. Harry Potter
2. Star Wars
1. Marvel Cinematic Universe

About troycarruthers

I am a franchise owner/technician specializing in mobile auto paint and tire rim repair. I live in New Brunswick, Canada, with my wife and children whom I love even more than movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

