I do not support the fight against breast cancer

A FictionYes, I do think that having breast cancer would be a horrible thing, and yes I do hope that people inflicted with it will find healing. But I won’t support any fundraisers or drives focusing on that disease. This week I saw promotional material online for the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation, and I made my conscious decision to not support it. Here’s why:

  1. What about the other kinds of cancer? There are people suffering from cancers that affect any one or more parts of their body and here we are  picking one out of the bag and giving it our money. It seems that lung cancer just isn’t popular enough to raise the kind of money breast cancer raises.
  2. What about the other kinds of diseases? People die every day from thousands of diseases—I refuse to choose one and give it attention as if it’s more important than the others.
  3. What about men? I realize that 1 out of 9 women will be diagnosed with breast cancer (according to the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation anyway), but women only take up half the population on this planet (I’ve heard that women outnumber men in world population, but I seriously question that claim). Men get testicular cancer, but it doesn’t get the attention that breast cancer does. Does that sound right to you? Sounds like reverse sexism to me!
  4. The “pink” is getting obnoxious. I’ve seen pink ribbons, pink shirts, pink busses… even the ring ropes on WWE Monday Night Raw turn pink each year for breast cancer. I think it’s overkill, and none of the other diseases get this kind of attention. In fact, I’m a little concerned that people will get turned off of supporting breast cancer since its supporters are so in-your-face about it.

Now if you are reading this and you completely disagree and are appalled by the above statements, good. I hope you never hold to such drivel. And I trust you will also not adhere to the sentiment implied in the statement “All lives matter” in response to the Black Lives Matter movement.

And if you’d like to donate or find out how to get involved in supporting breast cancer research, click here.

Congratulations Stranger Than Fiction. This is your week.

And the Oscar goes to…

A FictionBest Actress: Emma Thompson as Karen Eiffel in Stranger Than Fiction.
Best Actor: Other than Will, I really think Paul Rudd deserves this award. I think he’s hilarious, but I also think he’s at his very funniest in Anchorman.
Best Quote: I do love Jamie’s contribution: “Well let me just quote the late-great Colonel Sanders, who said…”I’m too drunk to taste this chicken.” — Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby.
Though I’d also like to add this little gem: “So when you say psychosomatic, you mean like he could start a fire with his thoughts?” — John C. Reilly as Cal Naughton, Jr. (same movie)

For the record: I don’t believe all American police officers (not even a small majority) are racist and/or unnecessarily violent. But there is undeniably a problem. And when a large group of people are crying out that they are being unfairly treated, the very least we can do as fellow human beings is to listen. If you’re unsure of the claims of the BLM activists, consider anti-racism educator Jane Elliott’s challenge. She asks her audience of white people to raise their hands if any of them would be willing to be treated as “our society in general” treats people with dark skin. No one ever raises their hand.

And we here in Canada are in the very same boat. Indigenous lives matter too. Do we listen?

This Week’s Movie

About troycarruthers

I am a franchise owner/technician specializing in mobile auto paint and tire rim repair. I live in New Brunswick, Canada, with my wife and children whom I love even more than movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

