Movies about Movies

6471995369_468e43c967_zI know I’m not the only one who loves movies. So many of my friends and family—probably a huge majority—love watching them, quoting them, and talking about them. And this is what makes Hugo great. Not only does it have a main character on an 12243424503_0b860359bd_mintriguing journey and characters you could watch for hours just because they’re that interesting, you also have scenes and themes on earlycinema that can make you nostalgic for a time that you didn’t even live through. As he always does, Scorsese brings you right into the heart of the story: it’s setting, its mood, its emotions, its normality, its abnormality, its beauty.

So here are some of the greatest movies about movies:

Tropic Thunder (2008). It can be a little on the crude side, but it’s a very funny movie that pokes fun at its own medium. One of the best lines comes from Robert Downey Jr: “I’m the dude playin’ the dude disguised as another dude!”

Be Kind Rewind (2008). This actually isn’t an incredible movie by any stretch, but the idea behind the story is original and fun. When you see what the characters are up to and the creative ways they do what they do (I don’t want to spoil6022514058_051d7866a4_m it, but it’s the coolest thing, especially for those who love movies.) it’s just a ton of fun.

Cinema Paradiso (1988). This is an Italian movie that I watched for the first time just a few years ago. It’s adorable and charming and I highly recommend it. And the kid is adorable!

All About Eve (1950). I wasn’t thrilled about this one, but it’s good and it’s one of those movies that’s “kind of a big deal.” The story is interesting and the characters memorable. One of the main characters is Bette Davis, and there’s a cameo by Marilyn Monroe early in her film career.

The Artist (2011). Making this movie was a gutsy move, and it paid off: it won the Oscar for best picture in 2012. I didn’t think a silent film made 80+ years after the genre fizzled out would hold my attention, but it did. Very good movie.

Adaptation (2002). If you’re tired of Nicholas Cage and don’t wish to see him in another movie for the rest of your life, at least give this one a try. He’s great in it, and so was Meryl Streep, Tilda Swinton, and Chris Cooper.

Bowfinger (1999). Ummmm… kind of flopped at the box office. And at the video store. But I have to say, I still love Bowfinger. The title is the last name of the main character, 3073716871_ed8658ce6a_mSteve Martin, who tries to make a movie he is certain will be a hit, so he does whatever he can to get Eddie Murphy’s character to star in it. So funny and so worth the watch.

Ed Wood (1994). This is a biopic about a legendary director. Legendary at being a terrible director, that is. Lately I’ve been pretty tired of the Tim Burton/Johnny Depp tag team, but this one is excellent.

King Kong (1933). I’m still at awe at how well this movie holds up 84 years later. In fact, I’ve seen all three of the major King Kong films, and this is still the only good one. I’m really looking forward to the new one coming out soon, though. It better be good!

Congratulations Hugo. This is your week.

And the Oscar goes to…
scorseseBest Actress: Cate Blanchett as Katherine Hepburn in The Aviator.
Best Actor:
Robert DeNiro in Raging Bull.
Best Quote: Ok, Jamie’s suggestion is such a classic: “…but I’m funny how, I mean funny like I’m a clown, I amuse you?.” — Joe Pesci as Tommy DeVito in Goodfellas. And I’d like to  add another great line from the same movie: “By the way, I took care of that thing for ya.” — Peter Cicale as Pete the Killer.

 

scorsese

About troycarruthers

I am a franchise owner/technician specializing in mobile auto paint and tire rim repair. I live in New Brunswick, Canada, with my wife and children whom I love even more than movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

