The farmer has it figured out…

When my son was a toddler I bought him a book for Christmas called The Farmer. It was often our bedtime reading material: a widower farmer living alone goes through continual events of struggle, loss, and disappointment. In between these events, however, he is a man of faith, persistence, hard work, and goodness. He’s a real take-time-to-smell-the-roses kind of guy who is also a good Samaritan, even in the middle of his own trials. And in the end… well, I can’t spoil it for you. You can borrow Lukey’s copy if you’re interested in reading it.

I loved that book.

I love that book.

One of the most valuable lessons I’ve learned in my 45 years on this earth (over 46 if we count time spent in the womb, though I question just how much I could have learned in there) is that there are seasons of life. Times when it’s clear and cool. Times when it’s grey. Times when it’s storming. Even times when everything is covered in fog. Right now we’re enjoying a beautiful summer with a healthy amount of rain. But we all know, especially for those of us living north of the 42nd parallel, that winter is coming. It always does.

Maybe your season of life right now is horrifying like in I Know What You Did Last Summer. Or depending on which part of the movie, it could be full of love, hurt, heartache, or bliss like in 500 Days of Summer. Or perhaps you’re frustrated or living through a series of misadventures that only seem funny to other people watching you, like in Summer Rental. Either way, be like the Farmer. Enjoy the wonderful things in life. Be faithful. Prayerful. Work hard. And when it’s tough, tuck your shoulder in and push through. Seasons pass. But we can always trust that beautiful things are created through each one of them.

Congratulations 500 Days of Summer. This is your week.

And the Oscar goes to…

Best Actress: Zooey Deschanel as Summer in 500 Days of Summer.

Best Actor: John Candy (yes, the same actor who received this honour last week) as Jack Chester in Summer Rental.

Best Quote:We should have a plan. Angela Lansbury always had a plan.” — Hellen Shivers (Sarah Michelle Gellar) in I Know What You Did Last Summer.

I should clarify that though the votes online pointed to Summer Rental as the winner, offline votes were made that resulted in 500DOS being the clear winner. Happy summer everyone.

 

About troycarruthers

I am a franchise owner/technician specializing in mobile auto paint and tire rim repair. I live in New Brunswick, Canada, with my wife and children whom I love even more than movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The farmer has it figured out…

  1. Joy says:

    Beautiful

Leave a Reply

