Taking a razor to climate change

When it comes to climate change, it can be difficult to know what’s real and what’s not. Do we trust those who tell us there is a dangerous and imminent problem that could have disastrous affects on our descendants, or do we trust those who warn us of spending unnecessary time and money on something being force-fed to us by alarmists?

Whether or not we realize, we all do have an established stance on the subject, and therefore, every one of us fits into one of two categories: 1) those who believe there is a real problem and 2) those who don’t believe there is a real problem. You may believe yourself to be more middle-of-the-road (e.g. You don’t believe all the hype but you also think we should be responsible in taking care of our planet.), but at the end of the day, either you are concerned about climate change or you are not.

Now Run Lola Run can actually help us here. In this film there are several different scenarios given to the audience. It doesn’t say which one is real, we choose. For me, when choosing what to believe in situations like this, I have found “Occam’s Razor” to be a very helpful principle in problem solving. It simply states that the simplest answer is usually the correct one.

So, in this case, which scenario below seems more likely to be true?

  1. The Industrial Revolution and its continual growth has created pollution that ultimately caused a real change in our climate patterns that, if left unchecked, will result in danger and possible catastrophe to generations to come. Multi-billionaires, whose companies are amoung the worst offenders pay top dollar to convince the masses that there is no problem. They hire people who pose as experts and insist that climate change is a hoax. They consort with powerful friends: politicians.
  2. Though evidence proves that pollution is destructive, the discoveries made concerning climate change years ago have since been proven to be a false alarm. A commanding majority of scientists and researchers, however, saw an opportunity to cash in on the fear people have for cataclysmic events. These scientists joined forces with politicians who rely on this mass fear as people will spend big money on government programs and “environment friendly” products.

Now I can envision either one of these being true. Given the opportunity to lie and deceive in an effort to make money is a common pit we humans fall into. However, in cases like this where it’s hard to know what to believe, I like to make use of the Occam’s Razor principle: the simplest solution is probably the answer. And when I do ask that question, it seems obvious to me that option #1 is the clear winner. Here’s why I say this:

  • I can more easily believe filthy rich oil tycoons trying to protect their money more than I envision a majority of the science community jumping into a get-rich-quick scheme. The motive is just more believable.
  • The super rich and politicians have gotten along very well throughout history. Time and time again we see them scratching each other’s backs. And though government often sponsors scientific studies, a collusion with scientists to make a snake oil profit, even if it’s a big snake oil profit, just doesn’t sound as probable.
  • More than once I have seen “experts” and “scientists” on TV who were exposed later as not experts at all, but people who were hired for PR work. And each time it they were on the side that claims climate change is a hoax. I have no doubt at all that their counterparts can and do the same, but I haven’t witnessed it yet.
  • I have a hard time believing that this hoax has managed to dupe most of the developed world but didn’t manage to trick the Donald.

This, admittedly, is a bit simplistic. I mean, textbooks are written on the subject. But this is my conclusion after running through the scenarios like Lola. And I must admit that after such a short run I’m already out of breath. So… what say you?

Congratulations Run Lola Run. This is your week.

And the Oscar goes to…

Best Actress: Ivana Baquero as Ofelia in Pan’s Labyrinth.

Best Actor: Yun-Fat Chow as Master Li Mu Bai in Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon.

Best Quote:I want to tell you with my last breath that I have always loved you. I would rather be a ghost, drifting by your side as a condemned soul, than enter heaven without you. Because of your love, I will never be a lonely spirit.” — Li Mu Bai in Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon.

If you’ve read this entire post, thank you. I realize that climate change is a bit of a bore these days, and is quite divisive. But I believe it’s important for us to talk about it, whether we like it or not.

About troycarruthers

I am a franchise owner/technician specializing in mobile auto paint and tire rim repair. I live in New Brunswick, Canada, with my wife and children whom I love even more than movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking a razor to climate change

  1. Petrina says:

    Well done troy!

Leave a Reply

