The Most Iconic Movie Stills by Decade

I love a picture taken from a movie that works as a piece of art itself. That’s what these are. I don’t pretend to have the correct pics, but I’m listing the ones I like the best followed by the ones I think would likely be picked by the experts and/or a popular vote. Here we go…

20’s

My favourite: Nosferatu (1922), Count Orlok appears in doorway.

The likely winner: Gold Rush (1925), The Tramp eating his shoe.

Honourable Mention: Safety Last (1923), man hanging from a clock high up on a clock tower.

30’s

My favourite: King Kong (1933), giant King Kong atop the Empire State Building swatting at planes. Honestly I think this one ought to be the winner.

The likely winner: The Wizard of Oz (1939), the four main characters marching arm in arm down the yellow brick road.

Honourable Mention: Gone with the Wind (1939), Rhett and Scarlett in a passionate embrace.

40’s

My favourite: It’s a Wonderful Life (1946), ending scene with George, Mary, and Zuzu beside their family Christmas tree.

The likely winner: Casablanca (1942), a tearful airport farewell. Perhaps the most iconic still of all?

Honourable Mention: Citizen Kane (1941), closeup of the last word before dying… “Rosebud.”

50’s

My favourite: Singin’ in the Rain (1952), Fred Astaire on the lamp post with an umbrella.

The likely winner: Sunset Boulevard (1950), “Alright Mr. DeMille, I’m ready for my closeup.”

Honourable Mention: Lady and the Tramp (1955), two dogs sharing spaghetti with a surprise about to happen.

60’s

My favourite: Psycho (1960), silhouette of “Mother” about to stab in shower scene.

The likely winner: Psycho I believe, but maybe The Sound of Music (1965) with Julie Andrews spinning in a meadow, arms outstretched.

Honourable Mention: The Graduate (1967), Dustin Hoffman in the background as Anne Bancroft pulls a stocking up her leg. “Mrs. Robinson, you’re trying to seduce me, aren’t you?”

70’s

My favourite: A Clockwork Orange (1971), Alex and his droogs at the milk bar. It’s not the movie I like so much, not even the scene. The scene is creepy on a lot of levels. But the still is so cool looking to me, and enormously iconic.

The likely winner: Rocky (1976), Rocky’s training montage ending, fists in the air. This is easily my first favourite as well. Another day, another mood and I probably pick this one.

Honourable Mention: Dirty Harry (1971), “You have to ask yourself one question. ‘Do I feel lucky?’ Well, do ya, punk?”

80’s

My favourite: The Empire Strikes Back (1980), Vader reaching out to Luke as he confesses who he is.

The likely winner: E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial (1982), full moon with flying bike silhouette.

Honourable Mention: The Shining (1980), “Here’s Johhny!”, Jack peeking through the busted door.

What a tough decade to choose from. Indiana Jones running from a giant boulder isn’t even listed!

90’s

My favourite: The Matrix (1999), Neo dodging bullets.

The likely winner: Titanic (1997), “I’m flying Jack!”

Honourable Mention: Home Alone (1990), Kevin slapping cologne on his cheeks and screaming.

00’s

My favourite: The Dark Knight (2008), Joker leaning out the window of a police cruiser.

The likely winner: Gladiator (2000), “Are you not entertained?!”

Honourable Mention: The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (2001), ring falls onto Frodo’s finger.

10’s

My favourite: Roma (2018), the family comforting Cleo on the beach after a scary moment.

The likely winner: La La Land (2016), Mia and Sebastian dancing in front of an overlook of the L.A. cityscape.

Honourable Mention: Inception (2010), spinning top. This was too hard of a pick for me. To me, the Get Out shot of a terrified Daniel Kaluuya and Joker dancing on the steps are powerful images that I do believe have just as solid staying power in pop culture consciousness as the other two.

Congratulations La La Land. This is your week.

And the Oscar goes to…

Best Actress: Yalitza Aparicio as Cleo in Roma.

Best Actor: Joaquin Phoenix as Arthur Fleck in Joker.

Best Quote:Now you’re in the sunken place.” — Catherine Keener as Missy Armitage in Get Out.

 

And of course, we did leave out one decade: the 1910’s. But I believe there is only one still that is iconic from that era. At least no other ones can compete with it. It’s from a french movie titled Le Voyage Dans la Lune or A Trip to the Moon (1902):

1 thought on “The Most Iconic Movie Stills by Decade

  1. Pingback: #449 – The Trial of the Chicago 7, Kajillionaire, Listener Emails | CineReeLists

Leave a comment